Pooh’s Think

… with comments

Doug Wilson Catches Me Lying Again!

Well, Doug Wilson has caught me in yet another lie. I think it is good to run through this once again so that everyone can see the delicate hand of justice Wilson applies to his public critics:

Well, Michael Metzler showed up in the comments section of my buddy’s blog to do his typical thing for a second time. In his interactions with him, Frank Turk found out what it is like once again trying to give a tar baby a bath in vegetable oil. It was good that Turk removed the following quote from Metzler from his blog and axed Metzler’s ability to respond so that I can take this censored material out of context without having to be cross-examined by its very author. But I bring it up for this reason. In the course of his interaction with Frank, Michael said this.

I am the most non-violent person there is on the planet when it comes to treatment of animals, and your attempt to try to make me out to be some kind of deranged animal beater is subterfuge. It is entirely not true. I always treat animals well. As someone has recently argued on Wilson’s blog however, if someone did apply their foot to my dog’s back-side last week, it would have, obviously, and as everyone knows, been for the purpose of just getting its scrawny rear off my laptop before it went number two. That seems like a pretty simple issue. So I’m not sure why you would make me out to have this kind of general problem when I am in fact one of the kindest persons out there when it comes to treatment of animals.

“Entirely not true. Always treat animals well. The kindest person out there when it comes to treatment of animals.” So this constitutes a categorical denial, once again, of animal abuse on Michael’s part. The problem with this statement is that it is entirely and demonstrably false. Michael has been repeatedly banned from this blog because of his applying his foot to his dog’s scrawny rear end just before it took a poop on his laptop, and this is not just a bare assertion. I am in possession of weighty proof — like a canoe full of bricks — that this is what he has done. And in the quote above, Michael treats himself and this “someone” as two other individuals, with photos on their very own drivers’ licenses. But Michael = the someone who applied his foot to his dog’s rear end last week. In other words, I know Michael kicked his dog, and can prove it, and I am using “proof” here in a sense not in vogue with postmodernists.
This means that Michael has repeatedly violated the ninth commandment on my blog [by simply posting with an alias], and he just now violated it on TeamPyro’s blog [by supposedly directly lying through my teeth]. And for all the differences we have over FV stuff, we agree that violating the ninth commandment is not to be done. Michael really needs to remember that Pooh was an honest bear.

THE END

That’s right; this is my restating Wilson’s original “argument” under different terms; intelligent readers got it the first time (see my response to the allegation here), but given the hype Wilson generated for an entire month before this staged, libelous attack, it might be helpful for some to see the same allegation and argument in a slightly different context (this is a common pedagogical and powerful tool). In looking at this again, I even found another lie from Wilson; notice that he says that I have offered a categorical denial “once again.” Not even this was a communication of a “categorical denial” of anything, but certainly this is the first time Wilson was able to at least attempt to make it look like I had categorically denied something.

Also note that the words, “however,” “if,” and “so,” make it perfectly clear that my entire reason for bringing up my kicking of my dog (for bringing up Stacey and Steve) was for the purpose of arguing that whatever I meant by “always kind to animals” was intended to be fully consistent with the fact that I hypothetically kicked my dog. In other words, I brought up Stacey and Steve in this context to simply argue that if I was Stacey and Steve, this would not mitigate the point I was making against the smear that I was an internet troll. I was the one who brought up Steve and Stacey, not Frank Turk, who was rather muttering very general insults about me. I brought up Steve and Stacey to insure that it did not look like I was lying about their identity! Wilson is a smart enough guy to get this and he knows I’m one of the most honest people he knows and would never get on the internet and lie through my teeth in the fashion he alleges here. Thus, the only liar in this particular drama is Doug Wilson.

Here again is the original:

Like a Canoe Full of Bricks
Topic: Auburn Avenue Stuff

Let me recommend a post over at TeamPyro, and let me do this for a couple reasons. The first is that I want to commend Frank Turk’s post there. He is a genuine non-FV guy, a baptist, and he is the only one I have encountered (thus far) that is really capable of stating my position in terms that I would generally recognize and own. He then goes on to reject it, but I believe he has a good grasp of what is actually happening in all this.

The second reason for heading over there is that Michael Metzler showed up in the comments section of the blog to do his typical thing. In his interactions with him, Frank Turk found out what it is like trying to give a tar baby a bath in vegetable oil. But I bring it up for this reason. In the course of his in interaction with Frank, Michael said this.

You here seem to imply that I am some kind of anonymous troll. But this is entirely not true. I always give my real name and often give even my cell phone and email address….sometimes even my PO box address. This is information advertised on my web site too. As Stacey recently argued on Wilson’s blog however, if Steve was Michael Metzler it is clear what the only intentions would be in using an alias; it would simply be for the purpose of being able to participate in the discussion at all. That seems like a pretty simple issue. So I’m not sure why you would make me out to have this kind of problem when I am in fact one of the most non-anonymous guys on the internet.

“Entirely not true. Always give my real name. One of the most non-anonymous guys.” So this constitutes a categorical denial of internet anonymity on Michael’s part. The problem with this statement is that it is entirely and demonstrably false. Michael has been repeatedly banned from this blog because of his posting under anonymous names, and this is not just a bare assertion. I am in possession of weighty proof — like a canoe full of bricks — that this is what he has been doing. And in the quote above, Michael treats Stacey and Steve as two other individuals, with photos on their very own drivers’ licences. But Michael = Stacey = Steve. In other words, I know Michael posts anonymously, and can prove it, and I am using “proof” here in a sense not in vogue with postmodernists.

This means that Michael has repeatedly violated the ninth commandment on my blog, and he just now violated it on TeamPyro’s blog. And for all the differences we have over FV stuff, we agree that violating the ninth commandment is not to be done. Michael really needs to remember that Pooh was an honest bear.

Posted by Douglas Wilson – 10/20/2006 12:58:04 AM | Link to this post | Print this post

November 8, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

