Pooh’s Think

… with comments

Goooood Mooorning Vietnaaaam!

I’ve enjoyed my vacation from email and the world wide web. Yes indeed.

Yesterday I went from 70 to 80 degree weather to 24 degrees. I don’t know why people live in the north. The conference went well; I think I gave a good defense for the poetic tradition, which is no small task amongst a bunch of intelligent analytic philosophers. And it was good to be back in Florida again and see my parents. I got to see the clean, soft, white sand of Clearwater Beach and the impatiens, coleus, hibiscus, and crotons that thrive all year round. I had forgotten how nice driving is down there too: flat, straight, smooth, fast. Many many black people too, which will hopefully keep the kinists and related theonomists out of Florida.

Since my dad travels for business a good deal, he has points; this means it will not cost $4000 to fly all six of us back down there in January. Living in a small house in a cold small town without many indoor places for kids to go run around in is a sure way to come down with cabin fever. My oldest daughter said she was going to be counting the days on her calendar for take-off time: airplain, beach, Disney land, Cypress Gardens, Bock Tower, and green thick grass to run around on without getting frost bite. If we get there alive in two months this should be our grand vacation from the Kirk wars.

On to business:

I hope you enjoyed the Southern Poverty Law Center’s recent Report on Doug Wilson. We need more journalists like this to expose this barbaric mess here in the midst of the wheat fields of the United State’s Palouse. I also hope my time away has encouraged my readership to dive more deeply into the archives. There is much there to be mined at this point, and I think that educating yourself about the history, testimony, primary documents, etc, is going to be the best defense against the lies that Wilson and other Wilson defenders are putting out about the real story of the Metzler family in the Kirk, the real story of Douglas Wilson, and the real story of the Wood. I haven’t seen Wilson’s attack blog for over a week, but my wife took a look recently and informed me that Wilson is still doing his best to make that one theatrical post stick in the world wide web as the most creative deceit yet known to the blogsphere. The question for me is not whether or not Wilson lies knowingly all the time; the question is really whether he ever sincerely says something true—like, you know, saying something simply because you think it is true and not to manipulate the next person to walk into your office. I have my doubts at this point.

Wilson is surely enjoying his new side-kick Henry (I’ll call him Mr. Henry Smith for long). Before I left on my trip, Mr. Smith was lying about my comments on my site and making claims about my willingness to post challenges on my site that were clearly the opposite from the truth. I was planning on taking a week vacation from blogging and yet still offered Mr. Henry Smith the ability to respond here in the Wood. Yet, if you will recall, Mr. Smith claimed that my blog vacation was just some kind of dishonest ploy, which forced me to inform you that I was indeed going out of town for a busy multi-tasking business/family trip. This was certainly the final straw for Mr. Henry Smith’s credibility for the more intelligent creatures of the Wood, and yet what happens from there? Mr. Smith fails to send me a single email to be posted to the Wood, lets his libelous claims about this stand as is, and continues to bellow about how Just it is that I not be permitted on Wilson’s blog to answer the continual false allegations against me. Jeepers creepers man. If Mr. Henry Smith’s fanaticism was aimed in the direction of Wilson and crew he would have been kicked off Wilson’s blog a long time ago for breaking every explicit and implicit rule supposedly guiding Wilson’s blog to the safe shores of justice and truth.

Anyhow. Much to do for Pooh Bear right now. I’m over 30, my wife is home-schooling four children, and I am completing my M.A. while preparing to send up applications to PhD programs that are all due in about a couple of months. And I am still trying to complete and sell the latest spec house that will hopefully be the transition to two more ground breaks to cover me before we move this coming summer or so. We’ll see how things progress in the Wood. After almost a thousand posts over the last nine months, I can’t help but offer a moment of silence and somber pause over the continuing willful ignorance among many kirkers and even some close friends (I thought they were friends) and some family about the most simple facts of what has happened here in the Moscow over the last year. I suspect that it is time to start going back and mining the public record. And perhaps I should finally begin telling the story of the Wood again! Much to do, too little time (particularly right now), but we shall see. And oh yes! The note from Josh Gibbs and my reply coming soon.

November 2, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi. I would love to dialog here. Great web site. Bring it on. Once again, all posts sent to metzler@moscow.com will be published at http://www.poohsthink.com.

    Michael Metzler
    509-330-1503
    metzler@moscow.com

    Comment by Michael Metzler | November 2, 2006

    By the way: please remove your libelous claim “but he blocks all comments on his blog.” That is clearly an intentionally dishonest way of refering to the simple fact that I don’t have comments. I used to; it was in my favor to given the intelligence and character of my opponent; and when I ceased comments I explained why at length (and have had to repeat myself more than once). I “block all comments” the same way Peter Leithart “blocks all comments” on his blog. Check it out: http://www.leithart.com

    Given this libelous statement right out the gate, I take it that you are a Wilson defender.

    Michael Metzler
    509-330-1503
    metzler@moscow.com
    http://www.poohsthink.com

    Comment by Michael Metzler | November 3, 2006

    Comment by Michael Metzler | November 3, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

